Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors

City of Texarkana, Arkansas

City Hall – East Third and Walnut Streets

Monday, May 21, 2018 – 6:00 PM

 

1.

Call to Order

2.

Roll Call

3.

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance given by Director Laney Harris

4.

Comments from the Mayor

5.

Presentation(s):

 

National Small Business Week with Richard and Brenda Carter from B&R Tile and Janell Morton Center Director for Arkansas Small Business and Technology Development Center.

CONSENT:

6.

Approval of Minutes of the regular meeting May 7, 2018. (CCD)

7.

Adopt a Resolution authorizing the City Manager to execute a contract between the City of Texarkana, Arkansas, and the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) to carry out Certified Local Government grant activities. (PWD-Planning)

8.

Adopt a Resolution amending the FY2018 Public Works Budget (Resolution No. 2017-55) accepting grant funds from the 2018 Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism’s Outdoor Recreation Matching Grant Fund and Texarkana, Arkansas, Advertising & Promotion Commission. (PWD)

9.

Adopt a Resolution authorizing the City Manager to purchase property located at 710 E. 4th Street, which includes the purchase of a vacant lot located at 320 Pecan Street (TAPD) Lt. Chris Rankin

REGULAR:

10.

Adopt an Ordinance amending Chapter 13 of the Code of Ordinances of the City of Texarkana, Arkansas, adding Section 13-14 to establish the operation, permitting and scheduling of Food Trucks within the city limits. (PWD) Chief Building Official Shawn Maxey

11.

Citizen Communication [Agenda Item Card and Citizens’ Communication Card]

12.

Executive Session

 

A.

Adopt a Resolution making appointments to various boards, commissions, and committees. [Advertising and Promotion Commission, Airport Authority, Board of Adjustment, Electric Board of Review, Heating and Air Conditioning Board of Review, Historic District Commission, Housing Authority and Planning Commission] (CCD)

 

B.

Boards and Commissions Expiration of Terms. (CCD)

13.

Adjourn

Announcements

2018 City Calendar

 

Gateway Farmers Market – Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays

 

Memorial Day Walk – Monday, May 28, 2018

 

Twin City Sports Youth Football Showcase – Friday, June 1, 2018 – Saturday, June 2, 2018

 

Downtown Tinkertown – Saturday, June 2, 2018

 

2nd Annual Celebration Birthday Block Party for Montel Waller – Saturday, June 2, 2018

 

Twin City Sports Youth Baseball Showcase – Friday, June 8, 2018 – Saturday, June 9, 2018

 

Second Saturday Trade Days – Saturday, June 9, 2018

 

2nd Annual National Pride Event – Saturday, June 9, 2018

 

Big Bass Clash Fishing Tournament – Friday, June 15, 2018 – Sunday, June 17, 2018

 

Back Alley Food Court – Saturday, June 16, 2018

 

June Bug Crawfish Boil – Saturday, June 16, 2018

 

Two States Softball Camp and Scrimmage – Friday, June 22, 2018 through Sunday, June 24, 2018

 

Texarkana Fallen Bikers Memorial Wall Fundraiser – Saturday, June 23, 2018

 

Sparks in the Park – Saturday, June 30, 2018

 

Soccer Youth Evaluation Camp – Friday, July 13, 2018 and Saturday, July 14, 2018

 

Second Saturday Trade Days – Saturday, July 14, 2018

 

Back Alley Food Court – Saturday, July 21, 2018

 

Second Saturday Trade Days – Saturday, August 11, 2018