Rescheduled Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors

City of Texarkana, Arkansas

City Hall – East Third and Walnut Streets

Tuesday, September 4, 2018 – 6:00 PM

 

1.

Call to Order

2.

Roll Call

3.

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance given by Director Laney Harris

4.

Comments from the Mayor

5.

Presentation(s):

 

A.

Presentation of the City of Texarkana, Arkansas Employee/Retirement Service Awards. (CCD)

 

B.

Presentation of the City Beautiful Commission Commercial Landscape award to Texarkana, Arkansas Funeral Home and City Beautiful Commission Residential Landscape award to Eddie and Janet Hawkins. (CBC)

 

C.

Presentation by Director Mark Mellinger regarding the Texarkana Regional Airport. (BOD) (This item was added to the agenda at the request of Mayor Ruth Penney Bell.)

CONSENT:

6.

Approval of Minutes of the regular meeting August 20, 2018. (CCD)

7.

Adopt a Resolution rescheduling 2019 regular Board of Director meetings that conflict with City approved holidays. (CCD)

REGULAR:

8.

Adopt an Ordinance to provide for procedures for the enforcement and collection of Advertising and Promotion Commission taxes levied and administered by the City. (A&P) (SECOND READING) (This ordinance is sponsored by Director Linda Teeters.)

9.

Consider the following regarding SWAT Level 3A Ballistic Vests:

 

A.

Adopt an Ordinance waiving competitive bidding and authorizing the City Manager to purchase SWAT Level 3A Ballistic Vests. (TAPD) Chief Bob Harrison

 

B.

This ordinance requires an emergency clause: An emergency clause requires a separate and distinct vote of the board and is valid only if there is a two-thirds vote of approval by the board. (Hdbk. Const. Amend 7)

10.

Citizen Communication [Agenda Item Card and Citizens’ Communication Card]

11.

Executive Session

 

A.

Adopt a Resolution making appointments to various boards, commissions, and committees. [Advertising and Promotion Commission, Electric Board of Review, Heating and Air Conditioning Board of Review, Historic District Commission, and Planning Commission] (CCD)

 

B.

Boards and Commissions Expiration of Terms. (CCD)

12.

Adjourn

2018 City Calendar


Gateway Farmer’s Market – Every Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday

 

AR-TEX REDI Announcement – Tuesday, September 4, 2018

 

Second Saturday Trade Days – Saturday, September 8, 2018

 

Four States Fair & Rodeo – Friday, September 14, 2018 – Sunday, September 23, 2018

 

74th Annual Four States Fair & Rodeo Parade – Saturday, September 15, 2018

 

Back Alley Food Court – Saturday, September 15, 2018

 

31st Annual POW/MIA Vigil – Friday, September 21, 2018 – Saturday, September 22, 2018

 

Ride to Remember – Saturday, September 22, 2018

 

National Night Out – Tuesday, October 2, 2018

 

Dine on the Line – Saturday, October 6, 2018

 

Second Saturday Trade Days – Saturday, October 13, 2018

 

Komen Texarkana Race for the Cure – Saturday, October 20, 2018

 

Back Alley Food Court – Saturday, October 20, 2018

 

Second Saturday Trade Days – Saturday, November 10, 2018

 

Back Alley Food Court – Saturday, November 17, 2018

 

Second Saturday Trade Days – Saturday, December 8, 2018

 

Back Alley Food Court – Saturday, December 15, 2018

 

Warriors for Christ Crusade – Friday, March 1, 2019 – Saturday, March 2, 2019